Skip to content

Cash ISA

First Direct Cash ISA

First Direct offers an instant-access Cash ISA and a fixed-rate Cash ISA. The instant-access account has an unusual condition: withdrawals are made by transferring to a first direct 1st Account, so getting at the money in practice means holding their current account.

Last updated: 9 September 2026

At a glance

2 ISAs covered

  • Instant access and fixed-rate ISAs
  • Withdrawals route through a 1st Account
  • Transfers in accepted
See the rates

The accounts

First Direct Cash ISAs

Rates and terms as published by First Direct and read on 9 September 2026. Confirm anything that affects your decision on the provider's own page before you apply.

Cash ISA

First Direct logo

2.75% AER / 2.72% tax-free

Rate type
Variable
Access
Instant access, by transfer to a first direct 1st Account
Minimum
£1 to open
Withdrawals
Instant, paid to a first direct 1st Account

Fixed Rate Cash ISA

First Direct logo

4.35% AER / tax-free

Rate type
Fixed for the term
Access
Fixed term
Minimum
Not published on the Cash ISA page
Withdrawals
Check the account terms before applying

The rules

Eligibility, transfers and protection

Who can apply
Sole name only — this account cannot be held jointly
How to open
App, online banking or by post
Transfers in
Accepted from other providers, using an ISA transfer form, for current and previous tax years
Flexible ISA
Not stated on the product page — confirm before applying
Deposit protection
FSCS protected up to £120,000
Allowance
£1 minimum deposit, up to £20,000 for the tax year

Before you commit an allowance

What to check first

  • Instant access is delivered by transfer to a first direct 1st Account. If you do not hold one, check how you would actually get the money out before treating this as an easy-access ISA.
  • The account can only be held in a sole name.
  • First Direct does not state on the product page whether this is a flexible ISA. If replacing a withdrawal matters to you, confirm it before committing an allowance.
  • The 4.35% fixed rate is a separate fixed-term product, not an alternative rate on the instant-access account.
  • First Direct dates its product information — it was marked correct as of 23 June 2026 when this page was checked, so the rate may have moved since.

A Cash ISA allowance is annual and does not roll over. Read how the providers compare before committing it to one bank.

Comparing First Direct's Cash ISA?

See how it sits against the other UK banks offering a Cash ISA, or read the full review of the bank behind it.